Our Curriculum:

During their time in nursery,The Little Learners will begin their learning in the Foundation Stage which ends when they reach Year One.  The Early Years Foundation Stage promotes development through 7 areas of learning and development:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development;

  • Personal, social and emotional development.

  • Literacy;

  • Mathematics;

  • Understanding the world;

  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used as the main basis for planning children’s learning and activities however this is approached with flexibility in order to ensure children’s current needs and interests are also incorporated. A parents guide to the EYFS can be found here. Our staff are trained to recognise the characteristics of effective learning which are playing and exploring, actively learning and creating and thinking critically. Through our observations of children engaging in these within their play, we are able to ensure our planning is relevant to their developing needs.